No lights on instrument panel

Interior, exterior, engine, and other problems.

Moderators: Super Mod, Moderators

No lights on instrument panel

Postby 1990s10 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:17 pm

Hey there, I'm looking for some help with figuring out the source of my problem after I shorted a brown wire from the headlight harness to the frame of my 1990 s10, I heard something pop, and now I have no dash lights or buzzer, but the only fuse that was gone was the tail Lps switch which could be unrelated.. anyways, after some testing I found out that my inst lps fuse wasn't getting any power whatsoever with the ignition off or on.. so in my limited knowledge of wiring I'm assuming that means there is a breaks somewhere in the wiring in the engine bay.. my question is how do I find it without tearing apart the whole thing.. I looked over some diagrams but they don't seem to be much help as it doesn't show which wire feeds that fuse if anyone could provide help that would be amazing thanks
1990s10
I found rocker arm monkey's on ebay!
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 6:07 pm

Re: No lights on instrument panel

Postby XXXXXXXX » Wed Nov 16, 2016 2:58 am

My 82 has 2 fuseable links in the harness at the starter.. I think if those go that it cuts all power to the cab but I am not sure. Maybe rick will chime in here.

X
82 S10 Longbed.. stock 305.. b&m 144 blower.. 7lbs.. stock 801 heads.. dyno'd 194rwhp...holley 750dp.. percys adjust a jet in the front & rear.. headman 1 1/2 shorty headers.. 2 1/4 dual exhaust with hooker aero chambers.. msd with boost timing master.. 2500 stall .. 700r4 .. 3.73 posi fact s10 disc brake rear end.. caltracs.. 275/60/15 Nitto Extreme 555 drag radials
XXXXXXXX
I drink used anti-freeze
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:35 pm

Re: No lights on instrument panel

Postby 1990s10 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 5:14 am

Hey thanks for the reply.. as far as it being the fuseable links on the starter wire wouldn't that prevent me from starting the truck? The truck still starts and runs as it did before, I suppose it's worth a try though and I assume you're talking about the purple wire from the main wire loom?
1990s10
I found rocker arm monkey's on ebay!
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 6:07 pm

Re: No lights on instrument panel

Postby jaymzz » Wed Nov 16, 2016 1:14 pm

Could it have burned up the headlight switch? I have had in the past a switch go bad and the headlights worked but no dash lights.
jaymzz
My hoist hit me in the head!
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:47 pm
Location: Oregon somewhere

Re: No lights on instrument panel

Postby Rickracer » Wed Nov 16, 2016 1:57 pm

Instrument lamps are powered through their own fuse, the tail lamp fuse, and the headlamp switch. :wink:
Rickracer
ASE Certified Master Automotive Technician (well over 3 decades of experience, :thumbup: )
'93 S10 SB,RC, Comp XR276 Hydraulic Roller, Vortec head 363, 400 + hp, built 700R4, JW 2800 stall lockup converter, 3.73 posi, disc brake, narrowed 8.8 Exploder rear, LS Camaro front discs, Cal-Trac clone traction bars, Best N/A passes to date: 7.76 in the 1/8th, 12.24@109.27 mph in the 1/4, gonna spray it one of these days... :mrgreen:
76 Chevy Vega Drag Car, TWIN TURBO 355, P/G trans w/ brake and JW 4000 stall vert, 4 link back half, narrowed 9", 3.50 gears, 29.5x10.5W ET Drags. Best time9.669 @ 139.79, Latest video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S59riYn ... ata_player
Rickracer
Master Swap Tech
Master Swap Tech
 
Posts: 28994
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Kissimmee, Fl.

Re: No lights on instrument panel

Postby 1990s10 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 4:34 pm

Yeah and the fuse itself has no power going to it whatsoever, what do you think would cause that Rick?if you could put me in the ballpark of where to take a look even
1990s10
I found rocker arm monkey's on ebay!
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 6:07 pm

Re: No lights on instrument panel

Postby Rickracer » Thu Nov 17, 2016 6:29 am

The Inst fuse gets it's power from the Park lamp fuse, but then it goes through the headlamp switch.
Rickracer
ASE Certified Master Automotive Technician (well over 3 decades of experience, :thumbup: )
'93 S10 SB,RC, Comp XR276 Hydraulic Roller, Vortec head 363, 400 + hp, built 700R4, JW 2800 stall lockup converter, 3.73 posi, disc brake, narrowed 8.8 Exploder rear, LS Camaro front discs, Cal-Trac clone traction bars, Best N/A passes to date: 7.76 in the 1/8th, 12.24@109.27 mph in the 1/4, gonna spray it one of these days... :mrgreen:
76 Chevy Vega Drag Car, TWIN TURBO 355, P/G trans w/ brake and JW 4000 stall vert, 4 link back half, narrowed 9", 3.50 gears, 29.5x10.5W ET Drags. Best time9.669 @ 139.79, Latest video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S59riYn ... ata_player
Rickracer
Master Swap Tech
Master Swap Tech
 
Posts: 28994
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Kissimmee, Fl.

Re: No lights on instrument panel

Postby 1990s10 » Thu Nov 17, 2016 3:15 pm

Hey Rick thanks for the reply, I tried replacing the headlight switch but there's another issue, also you say there is a park Lps fuse but I can't find one anywhere.. I think this cab is actually off a 1992 truck so that could be the culprit.. is it setup different in a 92? Edit: I forgot to mention when I tried the new switch the dash lights worked for a few seconds so I began putting the headlights back together, when I went to check the headlights I didn't have any dash lights again?

Also I went back and rechecked every fuse and they are all intact, I have my headlights fixed now so I can tell you that both high and low work, and also the turn signals.. but no park lights whatsoever so where ever this mysterious parking lamp fuse is it's probably the issue
1990s10
I found rocker arm monkey's on ebay!
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 6:07 pm

Re: No lights on instrument panel

Postby Rickracer » Thu Nov 17, 2016 4:41 pm

Looks like the Tail/Parking lamps fuse may be labeled TL-CTSY, should be a 20 amp. And it looks like it should be between the ECM B fuse and the HORN-DM fuse. 8)
Rickracer
ASE Certified Master Automotive Technician (well over 3 decades of experience, :thumbup: )
'93 S10 SB,RC, Comp XR276 Hydraulic Roller, Vortec head 363, 400 + hp, built 700R4, JW 2800 stall lockup converter, 3.73 posi, disc brake, narrowed 8.8 Exploder rear, LS Camaro front discs, Cal-Trac clone traction bars, Best N/A passes to date: 7.76 in the 1/8th, 12.24@109.27 mph in the 1/4, gonna spray it one of these days... :mrgreen:
76 Chevy Vega Drag Car, TWIN TURBO 355, P/G trans w/ brake and JW 4000 stall vert, 4 link back half, narrowed 9", 3.50 gears, 29.5x10.5W ET Drags. Best time9.669 @ 139.79, Latest video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S59riYn ... ata_player
Rickracer
Master Swap Tech
Master Swap Tech
 
Posts: 28994
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 8:02 am
Location: Kissimmee, Fl.

Re: No lights on instrument panel

Postby 1990s10 » Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:14 pm

there is a "TAIL LPS" fuse that isnt blown, but it was when the short originally happened... so somehow i have to figure out where the circuit goes from that fuse and check for breaks in it or something... ill also check the red wire from the alternator for any bad fuseable links.. cant see that being a problem though or i wouldnt have gotten power to the dash lights when i plugged that other headlight switch in right?

edit : so after looking at some diagrams it looks like the alt red comes into the right side of the tail lps fuse and org comes out of it and goes to the inst cluster, light switch and the radio.. so if my fuse isnt popping when i use the light switch that means the break must be in the orange wire coming from that fuse to the light switch right? because if there was a break in the fuseable link on the alt wire i wouldnt get any lights whatsoever?
1990s10
I found rocker arm monkey's on ebay!
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 6:07 pm

Re: No lights on instrument panel

Postby 1990s10 » Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:39 pm

well I fixed it, no idea exactly how but it works :lol: :stupid:

haha, but really... i checked out the org wire between the switch and the tail lps fuse and couldnt find any obvious breaks (didn't help that it was right at the top of the dash inside the large loom of wires) but I did cut a zip tie that was in the way of me cutting some of the old tape out of the way.. and then I tested the wire for power about 10 inches back from the switch and bam we have liftoff. So i thought at this point there was a break just behind the switch so i worked my way back and got power right up to the prong (that previously showed nothing) so i plugged the switch on and tried it and the test light shut off.. i thought i may have popped a fuse again but I just had the haz flasher out and the buzzer out so it must have broke the circuit or something.. anyways plugged it all back in and now I have my lights and buzzer back :boobies: hopefully i have them back for good but it kind of worries me that i have no idea what i actually did to fix it... anyways thanks for the help fellas.. going to show some pics once i get a few issues ironed out
1990s10
I found rocker arm monkey's on ebay!
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 6:07 pm

Re: No lights on instrument panel

Postby jaymzz » Fri Nov 18, 2016 8:02 am

Glad to hear that you got it fixed. :thumbup:
jaymzz
My hoist hit me in the head!
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:47 pm
Location: Oregon somewhere


Return to Electrical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest